Silent Treatment and Stonewalling

Scox’s silent treatment was intertwined with stonewalling, and hidden under the guise of anger management (“I need to calm down!”). He would leave for indefinite periods of time, and if I dared bring up the subject again when he returned, I’d be subjected to the same routine all over again.

In the back of my mind, I knew what he was doing, which was bared plain when (actually trusting his excuses for it) I took a page out of his book after deciding I’d had enough and leaving that first time, to make certain that when I did respond to his messages, I had a calm, well thought out response, as I was setting a very important boundary with him. He called it “the silent treatment” when I didn’t respond to him for a much shorter amount of time than some of his had lasted (I truly just wanted long enough to draft my message and run it past a couple friends to ensure clarity and lack of anger in my writing). When he read the message, even more ridiculous was his claim that I wanted him to “treat [my] feelings like a queen” simply because my boundary was “stop with the constant unsolicited criticism.” Apparently, respecting me as a fellow human being was just too much to ask of him.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.